Wow, West Virginia is sure hilly! Today was just one big hill after hill after hill after hill. We luckily stopped at the right house for water in the midst of all the climbing. The family invited us in to their air conditioned house, gave us ice cold water to drink while they filled our water bottles with ice and water. They even gave us two cold bottles of water to take with us and loved hearing about our adventure. They were having a family reunion but were happy to invite us in for a few minutes of paradise.

Today was lovely scenery (I missed my phone/camera so much) except towards the end when the heat and the hills got the best of us. We had a late lunch at McDonalds, believe it or not. I haven't eaten there since Raine was a preschooler and then I only ate the fries. Today was the full shabang - quater pounder (which was not nearly as large as I remember them being when I had to cook those slabs in high school in my bright lime green uniform at the newly built McDonalds in my town). Disappointing! I could have devoured six of them. This trip certainly makes us starving all the time.

We're staying in Ripley, WV tonight at a really cool old hotel. We can't camp in this heat - darn! Sunday is our last day of this trip, and we are soooooooo close to making our donation goal. THANK YOU!




Leave a Reply.